Wild rice meatballs

Well hello, my invisible internet friends. This post is coming a bit later in the day than usual. Want to know why? Oh, of course you do! What else could be more fascinating for you, right?

Ok, all joking aside, I got to spend the day with my grandparents. You guys, this is definitely one of the perks of having moved up here. We’re still an hour away from Hibbing, but that’s a far cry closer than the four (or far less if my brother or I drove) hours it used to take. Today we hit the grocery store, which number one is far more fun in a group. And even better, it’s pretty awesome to be able to do stuff to help out. They spent my whole life doing stuff for me, the least I can do is hit the grocery store with them, right? Right.

You know what else is really cool about living in this area? Wild rice. Yup, there is a plethora of wild rice for sale in the area. Tasty, organic, sustainably harvested wild rice. You know the things that make my hippie-dippy heart go all pitter-patter. I wasn’t always the biggest fan of wild rice, but it turns out, like most things you purchase close to the source, it’s far tastier when you know where it’s coming from.

I wasn’t always a fan of meatballs, either, but Himself is. And now, I am too. For whatever reason, I always had it in my head that meatballs were a pain to make. Not true, baked meatballs couldn’t be easier. The only catch is, they can dry out in the oven, but the rice, mushrooms, and banana peppers work together to keep these nice and moist and especially tasty. Not a fan of mushrooms? Go ahead and leave ’em out. But here’s a little secret, I bet if you ask Himself (who is not a big mushroom fan), he wouldn’t even have known they were in there. You get the flavor, but not the mushroom mush which can weird people out. Regardless, you should totally make these today.

Enjoy!

Wild Rice Meatballs

Wild rice meatballs

1 lb ground pork
⅓ cup green top onion, chopped, both white and green parts
½ cup cooked wild rice
½ cup finely chopped portabella mushrooms (optional)
2 Tablespoons finely chopped banana peppers
½ cup panko bread crumbs
1 egg
½ teaspoon black pepper
½ teaspoon garlic powder
¼ teaspoon chili powder
½ teaspoon smoked paprika
½ teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350.

Place all ingredients in large bowl and mix together thoroughly. Shape into 1 inch balls and place on baking sheet. Bake for 25 minutes, or until no longer pink inside.

Serve meatballs with these buttered egg noodles.

Makes approximately 26 meatballs

Prep time 25 minutes, bake time 25 minutes

Tagged: , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Simple Everyday Recipes

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food