Chicken caesar pasta salad

Whoooo hoooo! It’s finally the weekend. Course, I did work for couple of hours already this morning, but now my weekend has officially begun. And, let’s be honest, I sincerely need it. This has been such an odd week. Work has been hectic and our midweek trip to Minneapolis added more than a little stress with the terrible road conditions on the return trip. It seriously feels like the longest week ever.

So tonight, I’m prescribing Himself and I a night of relaxation and indulgence. I’ve long been a fan of the ideas of Ashley of Not Without Salt. She has a whole series entitled Dating My Husband. These posts are filled with delicious recipes they cook together. While not replicating the idea exactly, Himself and I love our stay at home dates, though it has been neglected as of late. These are nights where the meal is a little more intricate, the dessert indulgent, and everything is accompanied by a good bottle of wine and relaxed conversation. Sure those date nights out are awesome too, but there’s something special about carving out that space at home.

Now, this caesar pasta salad recipe is hardly the stuff of a date night at home, but it is nothing if not absolutely delicious. I love making this pasta salad almost as much as Himself loves eating it. This is the kind of staple I love having in my fridge to dish out for a quick lunch. The addition of the romaine and croutons makes it feel like a more complete meal. A delicious and super quick complete meal. And remember the breadsticks I love so much? Yup, those are a great accompaniment to this too.

I think you’ll notice that there’s quite a few recipes here that call for cooked chicken. The secret? Often when I make some sort of chicken for dinner, I’ll throw some extra in to have on hand for a meal to have in the next couple of days. Himself and I also love chicken on pizza, so we’ll keep some shredded chicken on hand in the freezer too.

Enjoy!

Chicken caesar pasta salad

Chicken caesar pasta salad

12 oz package of your favorite pasta shape
1 lb chicken, cooked, cooled and shredded
1 to 1 ½ cups caesar dressing
½ cup chopped black olives, optional

Topping
Croutons
Parmesan cheese
Baby romaine lettuce

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and rinse under cold water. When pasta is cool, place in large bowl. Mix in chicken, dressing, and olives.

To serve top pasta with parmesan cheese, croutons, and romaine.

Note: it’s best to top each individual serving with the cheese, croutons, and romaine, as the toppings will get soggy if mixed into the entire salad.

Tagged: , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Simple Everyday Recipes

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food