Cornmeal drop biscuits

Another glorious Minnesota weekend is almost upon us. It’s been one of those amazing warm in the sun, but ooh a hint of chill in the shade days that I love so much. The weather is about as perfect as it gets up here. Everyone else must think so too, cause we’re about to have visitors galore in the coming weeks. And. I. Can’t. Wait.

I mean not only do I get to share my love for this place with visitors, but I get to put off some of those pesky outdoor chores. (Oh stinging nettles, you’ve earned a brief reprieve, but don’t ease on your vigilance, I’ma comin’ for you.) And I have to admit, it’s nice to have a chance to avoid thinking about that garden. With the super late spring we had up here, I had to resign myself to the fact that tomatoes, peppers, and corn just weren’t happening. But I still have oodles of squash and cucumber to console myself with.

I’m also a little obsessed with landscaping right now (oh how the fickle mind will wander). When visiting the cities last weekend, my dad gave me four shrubs that had been living in pots but were yearning for the ground. And yeah, I found the perfect spot, and yeah, they look amazing. That and the irises and lilies are all a-bloom. Perennials and shrubbery, we’re about to become BFF.

And really, who wouldn’t want to put off pesky outdoor chores when it means you get to wander around and see stuff like this?

WednesdayWildlife from thePenandthePan-5

This little lady came for a visit this week to lay her eggs. And thank you Internet, I’ve learned that painted turtle eggs take the whole of the summer to hatch and then the wee things go right into hibernation. But Himself, consummate animal lover, marked off where she laid the eggs, so that we a) won’t disturb them all summer and b) get to spy the wee things out next spring. See, I think I found my own little corner of paradise here.

Ooof, but I do worry that you get tired of me nattering on about how much I love this place, so let’s move on to the recipe. Looking for a quick biscuit to round out your meal? Once again, I’ve come to your rescue! Ok, ok, maybe not rescue, but I do have a right awesome biscuit for you to try. These are just light enough to melt in your mouth, but still have a wee bit of toothiness from the cornmeal. I know you’re looking at the recipe now and thinking, “Really? Sugar? In a biscuit?” In a word, yes. You don’t end up with a sweet biscuit at all, but it does let that delicious cornmeal sing it’s own praises. As you’ll be singing mine, right?

Enjoy!

Cornmeal drop biscuits from thePenandthePan

Cornmeal drop biscuits

Adapted from the Bread Bible by Beth Hensperger

1 ½ cups flour
½ cup yellow cornmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
¾ tablespoon sugar
½ teaspoon cream of tartar
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup (1 stick) very cold butter, cut into small pieces
scant ¾ cup milk

Preheat oven to 425°. Grease or line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Add butter and using a pastry blender, fork, or your hands, mix together until you have something resembling coarse sand. Add milk and mix just until blended. Do not overmix.

Drop biscuit mixture by spoonful onto greased cookie sheet. Bake at 425° for 15 – 18 minutes or until just browned on top.

Tagged: , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

