Homemade taffy

You guys, I got to go to a gala this week! I’m more than a little excited. You see for years this gal was the one working the galas, and it was pretty rad to finally be the one experiencing it. Even better was the fact that the whole event was a celebration of living in the best place on earth. It was a premier for a documentary showcasing all the hidden gems in the area. Best part? It was staged like a movie premier complete with paparazzi! Who’s feeling glamorous? Check out the teaser/fundraiser below…

I was also feeling a little nostalgic this week. And so taffy. How do those relate? Well, sit back and I’ll tell you. When I was a kid, my mom gave me free reign in the kitchen, as long as I cleaned up afterwards. What did I do with this freedom? Made huge messes of course. This here taffy was one of those messes. It only turned out about half the time, not because it’s a hard recipe, but because kids are easily distracted. Though the recipe comes straight from a kids cookbook that was my mom’s as a kid, I think candy making is more of an adult thing. I mean boiling sugar? It’s a wonder I don’t have horrific scars on my hands.

Oh, here I go trying to scare you off the recipe. Wait, wait, wait. The reason I kept making it, is that when it did work out (when a recipe says let the candy get to 255°, they mean it, whereas the child in me looked at that as a mere recommendation), ok, when it did work out, it was a blast! Pulling taffy is fun! And the flavor combos are fantastic. This is a recipe you make to share, and share right away, because it won’t stay tasty soft forever. So eat it up! in fact, you should totally be bringing this to your Memorial Day BBQ.

Enjoy!

Taffy from the Pen and the Pan-3

Homemade Taffy

from the Betty Crocker Boys and Girls Cookbook (my mom’s cookbook from the 60’s)

1 cup sugar (up the ante with ½ cup vanilla sugar and ½ cup sugar, look real close and you’ll see the flecks of vanilla)
½ cup water
¼ cup light corn syrup
⅛ teaspoon salt

Butter a platter and set aside.

Combine all ingredients together in a heavy saucepan. Slowly heat over medium low until all the sugar is dissolved.

Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Continue cooking and stirring until taffy reaches 255° on a candy thermometer.

Pour onto buttered platter at once and allow to cool. When taffy is cool enough to handle, butter hands, gather taffy up, and pull until white and firm.

Taffy from the Pen and the Pan-1

 

Pull taffy into a rope, twist, and cut with scissors.

Taffy from the Pen and the Pan-2

If desired taffy can be flavored before pulling. Add a few drops of peppermint, 1 teaspoon of vanilla or fruit flavored extract, or 2 tablespoons cocoa just before you start to pull it.

Tagged: , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

