Sausage stuffed baked apples

I would guess it’s pretty obvious, but I seriously love cooking. I mean, I go though those periods where I’m ready to throw in the dish towel and swear we’re only eating out from now on. Himself does try to help, but I imagine it’s about the same as me offering to build us a bookshelf. Not gonna happen.

Really though, what can be more magical than looking at disparate ingredients in your fridge and creating something amazing. Especially when it comes together with exactly no effort. Though not for the blog, that’s exactly what happened yesterday – some olives, a little (brand name) olive marinade, chicken breasts, leftover flatbread, all topped with tzatziki sauce. Put those ingredients together and we had a Greek feast.

I’ve still had that weirdo relationship with food ever since that plague-like episode with the stomach virus, so getting excited about a dish is a pretty fantastic occurrence here. And then to have not one, but two dishes I want to devour (besides bread and cheese that is), well then, that’s really saying something about those dishes.

The second of those dishes is these sausage stuffed apples. I know, they’re really more of a fall dish, but it’s cold enough up her this week, that I don’t feel a bit bad about sharing this. And before you say something silly about sausage and apples not going together, I bet you’d eat a sweet, nutty acorn squash stuffed with sausage, so there.

You can make this with any kind of sausage, but I was busy turning what was already in my fridge into awesome, and so I used hot and spicy pork sausage links. And we are talking serious heat here, my friends. Put that with the bite of the ginger and you have something I want to put in my mouth. Mmmmm. You should totally put this in your mouth too!

Enjoy!

Sausage stuffed apples

Sausage stuffed baked apples

(adapted from Morning Food: Breakfast, Brunches and More for Savoring the Best Part of the Day)

4 tart apples
1 tablespoon butter
2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
4 ounces cooked sausage, crumbled or chopped (4 oz = appx 6 links)
¼ cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated
Chopped green onions to garnish

Preheat oven to 275º. Wash and core the apples. Using a paring knife, enlarge the cored hole, until the remainder of the apple is about ½-¾ inches thick. Fold a 6-inch square of aluminum foil around the bottom of the apple. This will hold filling mixture in place.

Finely chop the insides of the apple you just removed. In a saute pan, melt butter over medium heat. Add apple and ginger and cook 3 minutes.

Add sausage to apple and ginger mixture. Place cored apples in 8×8 pan and fill with sausage mixture. Cover pan with foil and bake for 1 hour. Remove from oven and top each apple with cheese and onions. Return to oven uncovered until cheese melts. Let cool slightly before serving.

Tagged: , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

