Ginger veggie & pretzel dip

Helllllooooooooo! Did you miss me invisible friends? I feel like I’ve crawled back from the brink of death over here. I had the nasty tummy virus that’s been making the rounds. I couldn’t keep food down, let alone write about it.

But not to worry, little chickadees, I am back and dare I say it it, better than ever. I’ve been floating around in a pretty rad state of well being for the past couple of days. I can’t point to exactly why this is, but I sure ain’t gonna argue. Having survived the *hardest* winter, I’ll readily bask in this general sense of awesome

Course, it’s certainly not hurting things that I’m typing this in the greenhouse, soaking in the last of the late afternoon sun, and enjoying a tasty glass of chardonnay. Except for one nagging little item, an awful disinterest in food. Not really what you’re looking for in a food blogger, right? Ever since I crawled out of that fever soaked bed, all I want to eat are raw fresh veggies. So, good thing I discovered this tasty, ginger-laden, veggie dip.

I had mentioned that when we were down visiting friends and fam, we were absolutely showered with gifts. One of which was a fantastic array of cookbooks from my mother in law. I’ve barely made a dent in paging through the bounty, but when I saw this recipe, I had to drop everything to make it.

It’s the perfect dip everything dip – pretzels, wheat-thins, carrots, and my all-time favorite, cucumbers! I made the dip with Himself in mind, who will inhale ginger anything any day of the week, and he really liked it, but this gal could not get enough of it. The tang of the ginger really enhances the veggies, and has a surprising kick. This isn’t your everyday boring veggie dip. But I bet it quickly turns into your go-to veggie dip!

Enjoy!

Ginger dip for veg and pretzels

Ginger veggie & pretzel dip

Adapted from the Breakfast in Cairo, Dinner in Rome cookbook

½ cup mayonnaise
½ cup sour cream
2 teaspoons finely chopped onion
2 teaspoons freshly grated and chopped ginger
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
1 teaspoon chili garlic sauce (optional)
¼ teaspoon curry powder, plus more for serving

Mix together all ingredients in bowl. Cover and chill at least 30 minutes and up to overnight. Serve sprinkled with additional curry powder and fresh vegetables or pretzels.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

