Roasted dijon vegetables with andouille sausage

Did you miss me chickadees? This gal couldn’t even get out of bed over the entire weekend, let alone create a blog post. I had that rotten, body aches, sore throat, raspy cough, fever and chills, terrible thing that’s been going around up here. So it was just me, endless tissues, all the blankets, and terrible dance shows on Netflix alternated with episodes of Private Practice. That and fever dreams of Taye Diggs shirtless in a tutu. What can I say, this gal was sick.

And now, on the mend, and significantly less zombie-like, all I crave is fresh vegetables. This morning, stopping downtown, I found myself daydreaming of the farmers’ market and the gorgeous recipes that would spring to mind simply with a short walk down those bounteous aisles.

While we have great grocery stores up here, you know as well as I do, that produce is a little dull these days. Winter vegetables have had their moment, and the fabulous tastes of spring greens, peas, and radishes have yet to join my table. It’s just a matter of time my friends, yesterday I ventured outside in just a sweater! And while I surely can’t plant anything yet, I can plant my behind in the greenhouse. In fact, I have every hope that Himself will see fit to set up the greenhouse tonight, so I can spend the early evenings basking in the sun’s warmth.

While I bask away, grab what veggies are looking best, and toss them together in this easy recipe. Feel free to substitute whatever catches your fancy, but stick with the potatoes as a base. The last of your winter parsnips would be a great change if you’re not feeling particularly carrot-y. But you’re going to want to gobble this up with some crusty bread. The roasted sweet of the veggies is perfectly set off by the tang of the Dijon and the slight spice of the andouille. Yum!

Enjoy!

Roasted dijon vegetables and andouille sausage

Roasted dijon vegetables and andouille sausage

Adapted from Taste of Home’s Roasted Kielbasa & Vegetables

5 to 6 peeled potatoes, sliced into ¼ inch slices
¾ cup baby carrots, roughly chopped
½ red onion, roughly chopped
4 cloves garlic, cut into slices
1 ½ tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons hickory or bbq seasoning
Salt and pepper
10 oz smoked andouille sausage, cut into ½ inch slices
1 small yellow squash, roughly chopped
1 cup corn
1 cup asparagus, roughly chopped
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large roasting pan, toss potatoes, carrots, onions, and garlic with the olive oil. Sprinkle with hickory seasoning, salt, and pepper. Roast in oven for 30 minutes.

Remove the pan from oven and evenly distribute andouille, squash, corn, and asparagus over the potato mixture. Return to the oven for an additional 20 minutes.

Remove from oven and toss mixture with Dijon mustard. Serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

