Browned butter, lemon and sage pasta

You guys, I seriously have the best job. Why just yesterday, I was plied with homemade sandwich loaf. Minneapolis was a desert for this delicious treat, and now it’s everywhere. Yayyyy! I know, you’re thinking, “How does homemade sandwich loaf equate to the best job?” Well, speaking from a girl who uses food to show how she cares about someone, it’s pretty awesome to walk into a room and have your favorite treat set aside for you.

But seriously, I have never before been made to feel so welcome at a job. My coworkers are the friendliest. And everyone is so concerned that I have the tools to do my job right. It’s a wonderful feeling!

I’m sure by now, you’re getting a little tired of me waxing melodic about how wonderful my job is, but to be completely honest, I haven’t had much time to do anything but work. Finding the balance in two jobs is taking a bit more time than I expected.

Moving on, Himself and I are not real big fans of Valentine’s Day. The holiday always feels like it’s placing so many expectations on people, so it usually slides under the radar here. That said, I should have shared this pasta recipe with you sooner, because it would have been a perfect V-day meal. So now, you have to promise to keep this in mind for your next date night. It’s a super quick recipe to put together, but will really impress. I mean, really, the “mmmmmm’s” coming from Himself were almost overwhelming. The recipe calls for a pre-made ravioli. Yes, it’s true, I did not make my own ravioli. Instead, you’re going to want to splurge on a really good, pre-made ravioli. Ours was a lamb and zucchini ravioli from the Sunrise Deli. Mmmmmmm. Now lamb ravioli won’t be found everywhere, but chicken or mushroom would work well here too. Just avoid anything acidic, as it will clash with the lemon.

Citrus has been sneaking into my recipes everywhere, I just can’t get enough of it. It’s that time of year, where even in the frozen hinterlands, the citrus is gorgeous and delicious. This recipe uses the juice and zest of lemons in it, but if you start to find yourself with extra peels, Kate at the Hip Girl’s Guide to Homemaking has put together a list of how to use up those peels. So far, I’ve been focusing on filling my freezer with all kinds of delicious packets of citrus zest.

This may be the most scattered, free form blog post of yet, so thanks for sticking through to the end. Now go make that pasta, my friends!

Enjoy!

Browned butter sage and lemon pasta

Browned butter, lemon and sage pasta

12 ounces of your favorite pasta – pre-made ravioli works really well
6 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 tablespoon sage, finely chopped
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
Parmesan cheese to garnish

In a large pot, cook pasta per package directions.

Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, cook butter over medium-low heat until fragrant and browned, approximately 10 minutes. Set aside.

In a separate saute pan, warm oil. Add garlic and lemon zest, saute until garlic is fragrant and just lightly brown, about 2 minutes. Add sage and cook just 1 minute more. Remove from heat and pour in browned butter and lemon juice.

Drain pasta, reserving ¼ of the pasta water. Toss pasta in sauce, adding pasta water if necessary. You need only add the pasta water if you want to cut the richness of the sauce. Sprinkle pasta with parmesan cheese and serve immediately.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Browned butter, lemon and sage pasta

  1. Dimple@shivaaydelights February 15, 2014 at 7:47 am Reply

    This looks so good! I am pinning it too!

    • thepenandthepan February 15, 2014 at 8:40 am Reply

      Thank you! It feels so good to hear your feedback!!

  2. […] tart flavors are making their way into every last bite I consume. In addition to lemon in my soup, lemon in my pasta, and these here lemony vegetables, I treat myself to a tasty little clementine every day. And […]

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

