Homemade butter

You know what guys, I married a saint. A saint, I tell you. And yes, I hear the audible groans, I mean you’re all well aware that I love my husband. But, I realized this weekend, that in additional to all the other crazy this poor guy puts up with on a regular basis, he also doesn’t bat an eye at my terrible singing. A little background info first…Himself is a wonderful singer, he’s performed in musicals and choirs, and even got a college scholarship for that voice of his. I mean we are talking perfect pitch. I am the complete and total opposite. It’s probably an accident if I hit the note, and the world will tumble in its tracks if I ever do learn to hold one. That said, I love singing. Love, love, love it. I adore belting tunes out, after all I can’t tell how bad I am, I’ve got headphones, yo! I will readily admit, that were our roles reversed, I would be much less accepting of my tendency to bust out in song.

Having the most understanding husband isn’t the only reason this gal is flying high today. You may notice that this post is coming to you a little later in the day. Wanna know why? Don’t be silly, of course you do! It’s because I spent the day at my amazingly awesome new job! Sure it’s only day two, but I am loving this! I get to write and and plan and check off lists (as I so adore to do) AND I’m doing it for a worthwhile organization. So winning!

Wait! There’s more! I might be sitting here with the proudest of grins on my face. You know what I did? I. Made. BUTTER! Yup, you read that right, I turned a pint of cream into butter. Ok, I know there’s not a whole lotta call for this, except that it’s super easy and fun, not to mention a good workout. One takeaway, butter making is far better with a partner. And homemade compound butter is the very best thing you ever put on pasta or a steak or even just the most amazing piece of toast you ever did eat (especially if you use that Dijon cheddar bread!).

Enjoy!

Homemade butter

Homemade butter

1 pint heavy cream
1 large plastic jar (an old peanut jar works really well)
¼ – ½ teaspoon salt (smoked or flavored salt if you’ve got it!)
1 ½ Tablespoons fresh herbs, chopped finely

1 hour before beginning, remove cream from the fridge and allow to warm to near temperature (recommending this goes against everything in my nature, but you’re going to need to do it anyway).

Pour cream into jar and shake vigorously for at least 15 minutes. You’re going to want to quit about ⅔ of the way through, when your cream starts to sound solid. Don’t. Stop.You’re not there yet. Keep shaking until you hear liquid again. This has taken me as long as 18 minutes.

Open the jar and pour off the liquid (buttermilk). Shake the butter out into a large bowl and cover with ice water. Mix around with hands to form small balls, squeezing out any liquid. Place the butter balls into a second bowl. Rinse a second time, squeezing out any additional liquid. Transfer the butter back to the original bowl (that has been rinsed clean)

Add the salt and herbs to the butter. Get in there and mix it up with your hands. Form the butter into a log and wrap with plastic wrap. Store in refrigerator and use within the week. You can also wrap the plastic wrapped butter in foil and store in the freezer for up to a month.

Tagged: , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

