Dijon cheddar bread

Working at home through the cold, cold weather has left me more than a little stir crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I love winter, but most of you will agree this has been a little ridiculous. I know, you’re all thinking, you *did* move to northern MN, Jess, but even locals agree that this is getting to be too much.

I’ll be spending the weekend doing a lot of rearranging, reorganizing, and serious cleaning. It’s almost as though I think I can will spring here with the start of some spring cleaning. It turns out that a wee bit of clutter is seeming like a lot after looking at it day in and day out. Now don’t get me wrong, I felt like quite the lucky gal working from home in my pj’s while Himself trudged across the frozen tundra of our yard to warm up the car before leaving for work. That said, I am ecstatic about starting the new job. I’ve felt a little removed from the community, so I’m super excited to dive in. But first, let’s get this place in shape.

This bread I have for you is perfect for a day spent cleaning or organizing. Mix a little, clean a little, rise a little, organize a little. And knowing how I feel about bread, it’s about the best reward for a day of accomplishments. The cheese and oats melt into the bread adding to the flavor and texture. And bonus points, the finished loaves freeze really well. So, you know, you could give that extra loaf to the neighbor who came along and helped shovel you out, or just enjoy them both your terrible own self.

Either way, enjoy!

Dijon cheddar bread

Dijon cheddar bread

Lightly adapted from The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

1 ½ cups warm water
1 ½ Tablespoons active dry yeast
3 Tablespoons dark brown sugar
2 scant Tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 large eggs at room temperature, lightly beaten
1 ½ teaspoon salt (smoked salt works really well here)
1 cup oats, quick or old-fashioned
3 ½ cups flour
2 cup shredded cheese

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the hook, dissolve the sugar in warm water and sprinkle the yeast on top. Let stand for 5 minutes. Add mustard, eggs, salt, and oats and mix well. Add 1 ¾ cups of the flour and mix for three minutes. Cover mixer with a towel and let rest for five minutes.

After resting, add the shredded cheese and an additional 1 cup of flour. Mix until well blended. Add the final cup of flour and mix until completely worked in. Dough will still be sticky.

Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let rise 30 minutes.

Divide the dough in two and place into two loaf pans. Dough will still be very sticky. I found it best to oil my hands before removing from bowl. Cover dough with lightly greased plastic wrap and allow to rise an additional 45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake 30 minutes. Let cool slightly before removing from loaf pans, then allow to cool completely on wire rack before slicing.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Dijon cheddar bread

  1. Homemade butter | the Pen and the Pan February 5, 2014 at 4:57 pm Reply

    […] Wait! There’s more! I might be sitting here with the proudest of grins on my face. You know what I did? I. Made. BUTTER! Yup, you read that right, I turned a pint of cream into butter. Ok, I know there’s not a whole lotta call for this, except that it’s super easy and fun, not to mention a good workout. One takeaway, butter making is far better with a partner. And homemade compound butter is the very best thing you ever put on pasta or a steak or even just the most amazing piece of toast you ever did eat (especially if you use that Dijon cheddar bread!). […]

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

