BBQ chicken pockets

You guys! Guess who went and got herself a new job?! A perfect job for her, if she does say so. That’s right, I’m going to be doing communications for one of the local school districts. Imagine that, me, getting to write All. The. Time. And, I get to start right away! So that means I am about to be one busy little bee. I had a bunch of wee projects I wanted to get done before the month was out (eeek! where has the time gone?!). So now, the mad scramble to get those done, and to get ready for a job that will actually take me out of the house!

One of those projects I’ve been working on is organizing all those recipe clippings. It isn’t pretty, but it’s getting to be pretty functional. Which is making me right happy. Number one, I hauled all these clippings during the move, so I really do need to do something with them. But number two, it’s fun to get re-inspired by the recipes again. And I could use a little inspiration, since I seem to be a little overwhelmed with my interweb inspirations. I’ve been avoiding my Pinterest boards and avoiding pinning anything new. There’s. Just. So. Much. There. Looks like one of my belated resolutions is going to have to be to cook my way through my boards. Well anyway, I’ll save that for another day. Today, I’m just happy to have made a dent in all those clippings.

Now the recipe I have for you is a tried and true favorite and is all about comfort. Similar to the chicken, spinach, and artichoke pockets, you could certainly make these with homemade biscuits. But in my mind, this comfort food should be quick, so I opted to stick with the refrigerated biscuits. You’ll note a stress on the sharp cheddar cheese there too. You’re going to want that to balance the sweet of the BBQ. Throw in the tartness of the green chilies and bite of the red onion, and you’ve got an easy meal that can’t be beat!

Enjoy!

BBQ chicken pockets

BBQ chicken pockets

Adapted from my chicken, spinach and artichoke pockets

2 cups cooked chicken, chopped or shredded
¼ cup chopped red onion
2 Tablespoons roasted green chilies
⅓ cup BBQ sauce
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1 package (8 count) refrigerated biscuits

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, mix together chicken, red onion, and green chilies. Add BBQ sauce and mix well. Mix in cheddar cheese.

Pat or roll out each biscuit until about double in size. Add filling to one half of circle and fold biscuit over. Pinch edges shut with a fork and place on a greased baking sheet. Bake pockets 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Tagged: , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

