Jalapeno cream cheese bread

I know, I know everyone is sick of hearing about the weather, so I’ll only mention this is passing. Remember how I was the most excited because there was supposed to be a pretty strong meteor shower on my birthday? Well, we missed it. Between the absolute cold and the cloudy skies, there was no chance to brave the elements with a camera. But tonight, we’re hoping for better news. There’s a strong magnetic storm watch forecasted, which means my very favorites – the Northern Lights! Keep your fingers crossed for me, my little chickadees. While, it’s still supposed to be co-o-old, Himself and I are willing to venture outside in this case.

And speaking of mention things here, a couple of weeks ago, I mentioned resolutions. While I’m not quite ready to conquer my resolution of mastering pie crusts, I am ready to make some sense of my recipe mess. I have a habit, learned from my mom, of clipping tasty recipes and setting them aside to deal with later. Recipes from the taste section, from food magazines, from newsletters, and most recently from our local food co-op, they’ve all found their way into a cupboard or drawer only to languish there awaiting some sort of organization. I even have a pile of my mom’s clippings. Le sigh. Imagine if you will, those old cartoons where someone would open a stuffed full closet only to find themselves up to their eyeballs in clutter. Yup, that’s me, awash in a sea of recipes.

If ever you came to my house, you’d be pretty impressed at the tidiness (or diagnosing me with OCD). Except when it comes to these dang recipes. Well folks, that organization is going to start now. I don’t expect it to be done anytime soon. I mean, last year’s organization goal was to get my families pictures scanned, organized, and burned to DVDs for the rest of the fam. I really pushed it with that one, finishing on January 1. But I’m still riding high on how good it felt to get that project done, so there’s hope (and such terrible weather, I hardly want to venture out of doors…).

Now this cheese bread recipe is one of the aforementioned clippings. Don’t let this one languish in your cupboards, you need to be making this now. It combines two of my very favoritest things – jalapeno cream cheese poppers and bread. If you happened to be a big fan of football (I remain sorely disappointed in the sport this season, due to a certain team’s dismal performance), this is the perfect dish to serve. If you plan on bringing this to someone else’s place for the big event, simply top the bread and wrap in foil for transporting, then finish it off in their oven. Now, this makes a huge serving of appetizers, so you could also portion out the topping and only bake a reasonable amount

Enjoy!

Jalapeno cream cheese bread

Jalapeno cream cheese bread

Adapted from Northern Star Foods Co-Op recipe collection

1 loaf french bread, cut in half lengthwise
1 -8oz package cream cheese, softened
1 whole jalapeno, seeded and diced
¼ cup onion, finely chopped
2 Tablespoons diced green chilies
2 Tablespoons mayonnaise
2 teaspoons taco seasoning (I’m still recommending Penzey’s Arizona Dreaming)
2 cups shredded cheese, cheddar or a Mexican blend will work well

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place the bread on a baking sheet, with the cut side up.

In a bowl, mix together cream cheese, jalapeno, onion, chilies, mayonnaise and taco seasoning, until smooth. Mix in shredded cheese. Divide mixture in half and spread over each side of the bread.

Bake for 15 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned on the edges. Turn on broiler, keeping an eye on the bread, until cheese mixture bubbles. Allow to cool slightly before slicing and serving.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

