Orange cardamom cookies with browned butter

Well hello 2014. You and I are getting off to a pretty rad start. Himself and I spent a rather low key and romantic NYE, relaxing in front of the fire with a bottle of his homemade wine (I really lucked out with this one). As cold as it was then on New Year’s Day, there was absolutely no reason to go outside, so instead, Himself and I renewed our Netflix subscription (what else are you going to do when it’s -36 below without the windchill?!). Add in my birthday on Thursday, where I did not do one single thing I didn’t want to do, and you have the makings for a fantastic first week of 2014.

With it being soooooo cold, it’s a perfect time for turning on the oven and baking something delicious, and so these orange cardamom cookies with browned butter were born. Plus, this gal would prefer a good cookie over birthday cakes any day. Are you ever just amazed by the tangents your brain wanders off on? Or is this just another facet of my brand of crazy?

Our lovely neighbor dropped off the most amazing gingerbread cookies on Christmas Eve, and I have not been able to get them out of my brain. Soft, chewy, with just a hint of something awesomely unidentifiable, I needed to find something similar. Yet somehow, my quest for the ultimate gingerbread cookies took a weird left and ended up with these orange cardamom cookies. Yup, not even close to gingerbread. But there I was standing in my kitchen tallying the ingredients I had when inspiration struck. Guys, this is why I love cooking. Ideas adapting and changing, simple ingredients transforming into something awesome.

Plus, browned butter. Need I say more? If someone were to make some sort of scented candle with the fragrance of browned butter. I would be All. Over. That. In the meantime, I guess I’ll just have to content myself with making browned butter everything. Life is rough.

These cookies are fantastic on their own, but for me the dark chocolate brings them to the next level. Power up. Of course, Himself thought the same of the white chocolate. To each their own, I guess…

Enjoy!

Orange Cardamom Cookies with browned butter

Orange cardamom cookies with browned butter

Adapted from Roxana’s soft chewy gingerbread cookies

14 Tablespoons butter
2 teaspoons orange zest
1 ¾ cup flour
½ teaspoon baking powder
1 ½ teaspoons ground cardamom
⅔ cup brown sugar
½ cup granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon molasses
1 Tablespoon orange juice
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 ½ – 2 cups white or dark chocolate chips, if desired

In a small sauce pan, melt butter. Cook over medium low heat until lightly golden brown. Keep an eye on it, butter will burn quickly. Add orange zest and chill in refrigerator for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350. In a small bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and cardamom. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat cooled butter and sugars. Cream together until light and fluffy. Add molasses and orange juice. Add egg and egg yolk. Beat until light in color. Slowly add dry ingredients, scraping sides of bowl as necessary. Gently mix in chips.

Roll into balls and place on parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake 12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Cool slightly before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

Makes 4 dozen cookies. Cookies will keep in airtight container for three days.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

