Wind chills aren’t going to stop us none!

Last night may have been ridiculously cold, we’re talking -25 degree temperatures even without the windchill, but there was one heck of a Northern Lights show going on! I mean, we’re talking so cold that my glasses didn’t fog up, they iced up. Crazy cold, right?! But that wasn’t stopping us none.

Ever since we moved up here, I’ve been fascinated by the great, big expanse of sky surrounding the house. Seriously guys, you have to look hard to see any neighboring buildings. So naturally, I’ve been on a mission to see the Northern Lights in all their glory. I’ve lived in Minnesota all my life and been an avid sky gazer since that first awesome undergrad astronomy class, but up until last night I’ve seen the Northern Lights exactly one time. It wasn’t a spectacular show, but the timing sure was…the night before Himself and I tied the knot at Jay Cooke State Park.

And then as I stood in our darkened house last night, peering out the windows, there it was. Not only the Northern Lights, but a shooting star. Below zero temperatures be damned, we had to get a better look, and capture it on “film!” There are times when I’ve shook my head at Himself’s enthusiasm for purchasing photography gadgets, but last night wasn’t one of them. Feeling awed and amazed in the freezing temperatures is one thing, but being able to share with others is pretty dang rad too.

Northern Lights_Red Meadow Farm 01
In the first image is just the Northern Lights and bunkhouse. That weird second image, why that’s me! I walked out to the bunkhouse so Himself could focus the camera, with a flashlight and long, long exposure, you get me as a blur. But the most amazing part of that shot is the huge meteor falling to earth. We actually thought that someone had lit off a firework for an instant.
Northern Lights_Red Meadow Farm 02Definitely worth the frozen toes and chilled fingers.
Tagged: , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

