Super mint cookies

Confession time…again. Soon my invisible internet friends, you are going to know all the inner workings of my crazy. Yup, come along as I continue to take my oddities out for a spin for us to poke fun at. But this time, it’s really a chance for you to sympathize with Himself. Each and every single time I paint my nails, I waive them in front of Himself’s face for him to admire. Every. Single. Time. I only realized this lately, but to his credit, he dutifully admires them. Every. Single. Time. And that is why I cheerfully make all the things with mint in them. He is crazy for it, and I for him, so mint, mint, mint it is.

And that’s just how these cookies came about. Wandering through the grocery store, I spied mint chips on sale. Of course I snatched those goodies up, cookies are always a big ol’ hit, right? But then when I got home I realized I didn’t just want to make your standard cookie base and add mint chips. So, I turned to my Biggest Book of Cookies. Don’t laugh, that’s a real thing. With a little tweaking, these super mint cookies were born. The powdered sugar makes these babies light and airy. So you can eat eight of them. Wait, no that’s not true, but might be an argument Himself gave me when going back for more.

If you’re looking to add to your holiday cookie repertoire (like I am…constantly), just add a few drops of green food coloring before mixing in the chips, and voila! Instant holiday goodness.

Enjoy!

Super mint chocolate cookies

Super mint cookies
Adapted from The Biggest Book of Cookies

1 ¾ cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ cup butter, softened
2 cups powdered sugar
⅓ cup milk
1 egg
½ teaspoon mint extract
1 cup mint chocolate chips (milk chocolate chips can be substituted)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper. In a small bowl, mix together flour and baking powder, set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together butter and powdered sugar, until mixture is crumbly. Add milk, egg, and extract, mixing well. Add flour mixture to dough ½ cup at a time, mixing well between additions. Stir in chips.

Drop dough by teaspoon onto cookie sheets. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes. Let cookies cool slightly on pan before removing.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

