Cinnamon quick bread

Are you ready for Thanksgiving yet? Have you been inundated with recipe ideas to update old favorites? Yeah me too. So here’s what I’m not going to do to you, I’m not going to share another Thanksgiving side dish you should make. Me, I’m sticking to old favorites and one new one. They’re favorites for a reason, right?

Before we talk recipes and food, let’s skip ahead to Christmas. It’s been years since this gal had herself a Christmas tree (not only because it’s been Festivus for the rest of us, but because I have cats). Yeah, cats and Christmas trees just don’t mix. But now that we’re up here, I’ve got the sun porch where the Christmas tree can live unhampered by cat curiosity. And acres of pine trees just waiting for a chance to celebrate Festivus with me and mine.

We had what was probably our last nice day on Wednesday, and I certainly took advantage of it. Tromping through the woods with a handful of bright red ribbon, I spied the perfect tree. Now, I will wait until December at least to bring it inside, but I happen to know from terrible experience, that it’s real miserable trying to find a tree to cut down once the cold and snow have really sunk in. Truth be told, though, I’m like a kid at Christmas again, not for presents but for the decorating. During the move, Himself and I found a huge box filled with Christmas decorating goodies. Yeah, I said found, quit judging. It’s going to be a blast to finally have a real live tree again.

Ok, so now let’s talk food. Like I said, we’ve already gotten out Thanksgiving dishes picked out. But if you’re like me, you’re going to need something for your guests to nosh on in the morning. No one wants a really elaborate breakfast, I mean we’re trying to save some room for the good stuff here. Enter, this quick bread. A slice or two with a little butter will take the edge off before the main event. Last week paging through my mom’s recipes trying to track down a favorite brunch we used to have, I found this gem hiding. I don’t remember if we ever had this as kids, but I think my family and I will be making up for that lack.

And just a quick note, this gal is going to take some time off next week to focus on her guests and the holiday. I’ll see you kids in December!

Enjoy!

Cinnamon Quick Bread

Cinnamon quick bread

2 cups flour
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar
½ cup unsalted butter
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup sour cream
¼ cup milk

Cinnamon swirl
¼ cup sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 ½ teaspoon orange zest

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two regular sized loaf pans or four mini pans.

In a small bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In another bowl, mix together cinnamon swirl ingredients. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine sugar and butter, cream together until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla, mix well. Blend in sour cream and milk. Gradually add dry ingredients and mix well.

Spread half the batter into the desired size loaf pans, batter will be thick. Sprinkle all but 1 Tablespoon of cinnamon swirl ingredients over batter. Top with remaining batter, and cut through batter with a knife to create swirled effect. Sprinkle remaining cinnamon mixture over loaves.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes for standard sized loaf pans, 25 minutes for mini loaves.

Tagged: , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

