Apple upside-down pancake

I told you all earlier that due to some technical difficulties, I’ve been off work all week. Well, it ended up being a little longer than a week. I was sort of tied to the house to work with IT if necessary and await deliveries. And then all of the sudden I realized, this was like having one great big, long snow day, and I loved it. On a snow day, my coffee still brews at the same time, and I still haul myself out of bed, but then there’s oodles of time for me to fill. And fill it I did, with baking, with recipes, with needlepoint. This gal was in heaven. Warm cups of coffee, cold blustery weather outside, sunshine streaming in the windows, wildlife bounding through the snow. Sounds pretty perfect, right? That said, I’m pretty excited to be back to work tomorrow. Down time isn’t always paid time.

But snow days make me think of comfort food, and comfort food makes me think of breakfast for dinner. When we were growing up, I loved it when my brother and I got to spend the night at our cousins’ house. Running around being the queen of four little boys, what wasn’t to love? But then when we woke up, my aunt Linda would often make this amazing oven pancake with the syrup on the bottom where it could get all gooey and extra buttery. Mmmmm, my mouth waters just thinking of it. I fondly remember this pancake and so when I was thinking of ways to add apples into my everyday pancakes, this recipe sprang to mind. If you’re feeling indulgent, it’s a nice treat.

This is not your typical oven pancake. There’s none of the eggy poooof that you’re expecting. Nope, if you’re trying to imagine it, think pancake + pineapple upside-down cake, but with apples.

Enjoy!

Apple upside-down pancake

Apple upside-down pancake

Topping:
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup butter
¼ cup maple syrup
¾ cup diced apples
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice or if you have my favorite – Penzey’s cake spice

Pancake:
1 cup flour
1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
2 Tablespoons brown sugar
⅔ cup milk
1 Tablespoon butter, melted
1 egg

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium saucepan combine all topping ingredients and cook until apples are slightly softened, about 5 minutes. Pour into an ungreased 8×8 pan, making sure apples are distributed evenly.

In a medium bowl mix pancake ingredients together. Carefully pour over apple and syrup mixture. Bake for 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

