Double cheesy chicken burritos

I think a lot of you know that I work from home. Well, this past week, I’ve had a few technical issues, which sorta means vacation, but one that keeps me near the work pc. That means lots of time at home “researching” on the interwebs and lots of baking opportunities. And that means for you, I have two new cookie recipes coming up, and a rad lesson to share.

We’re starting to get eggs already, even sooner than expected. One of the hens is laying every day. This means I’ve got eggs a plenty on my hands, since I still had commercial eggs to go through. Earlier this week, idly paging through my Mother Earth News magazine (more hippie-dippy-ness exposed), I read an article about freezing eggs. Yup, so why is this important to you? This girl hates throwing away food, so even your commercial eggs can be frozen. I just took a ziplock and used it to line a mug. Poured in one to two lightly beaten eggs, popped in the freezer for an hour, and then transferred the individual ziplocks to one big freezer bag. Freezing them upright in the mugs ensured that there was no chance of eggs leaking out all over my freezer. Now I’ve got eggs ready for all that holiday baking I’m already thinking about.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about those spicy cheesy chicken rolls I shared with you back in September. I adored the flavor. I’ve also been craving tacos lately. So one night whilst letting my mind go on a little roundabout, I came up with a way to combine the two into burritos. Now here’s the thing about burritos at my house. I love cheesy warm burritos, but I also love the crisp crunch of veggies in a taco. So I always top my burritos with fresh lettuce, tomatoes, and chopped onion. You could put the onion and tomato inside the burritos, but since this burrito is so filled with cheesy goodness, you’re going to like a little crunch with it.

And while we’re at this, let’s talk hot sauce again. When I made the chicken roll-ups, I waxed eloquent about my favorite hot sauce, Cajun Sunshine. While now there’s another contender for favorite, and the best part is it’s local. I’m not just talking Minnesota local, no even better, it’s made right up the road in Grand Rapids – Steve’s Pepper Sauce. There’s a lot of flavor packed in with this heat. And it is taaaaaaaaa-sty! So, even if you don’t use this hot sauce, make sure you’ve got one with a little bit of kick and a lot of flavor.

Enjoy!

Double cheesy chicken burrito

Double cheesy chicken burritos

4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 teaspoon taco seasoning
½ teaspoon adobo seasoning
3 teaspoons hot sauce
1 can chopped green chilies
1 ¼ cup shredded cheese, divided
1 ⅓ cup (about two breasts) chicken, shredded or chopped, your call
1 8 count package tortillas – burrito size

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, mix together cream cheese, taco and adobo seasonings, hot sauce and green chilies. Add 1 cup of shredded cheese and mix well. Mix in chicken.

Spread a thin layer of filling on each tortilla (you should have enough to fill all eight tortillas). Roll up and place in a baking dish with seam side down. Sprinkle with reserved ¼ cup cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.

Top with chopped tomatoes, lettuce, avocado, and cilantro cream.

Tagged: , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

