Apple butterscotch bars

It’s been a slow news week here in Jessica-land. We’ve just been working at our respective jobs, getting ready for winter, and enjoying each other’s company and the amazing place in which we live. And you know what, it may not be the most exciting week ever, but it’s just what I needed. With another string of rainy days, I’ve had plenty of time to dig away at the unpacking and organizing, not to mention all the time in the world for curling up with some library books. In my mind, there’s not much better way to relax than with a cup of tea and a good book on that lovely, four-season porch. But, I’m in the home stretch with the home organization now. All we have left is unpacking and hanging pictures. It’s really starting to feel like home. I know, hearing that you guys are going to be clamoring for pictures again, but I really want everything to be perfect before I invite you all inside for the grand tour.

Luckily, these rainy days have also given me time to get some baking in. I’m still working my way through all the apples I bought at the farmers’ market. I still can’t say no to a fresh, organic apple. I already confessed my inability to pass up the apples, but I’ve got another confession for you. First, you have to promise not to hate.

Ok, here goes. I don’t really care for butterscotch. At. All. Himself thinks that’s just crazy talk, and I know many of you would agree. That said, I can’t get enough of these bars. The sweetness of butterscotch, which to me is usually a little cloying, is balanced by the tartness of the apples. And then bars, it is just such a loose term, I know. But these are somewhere between a cake and a blondie. They’re just airy enough that I can’t properly call them blondie, but cake-y, blondie, or bar, they are just plain delicious.

Enjoy!

Apple butterscotch bars

Apple butterscotch bars

½ cup butter, softened
½ cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 ½ cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup diced apples
½ cup butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat butter and sugar together until creamed, add egg and vanilla. Mix well. In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking powder and salt. Add to butter and sugar mixture. Mix well. Add apples and butterscotch chips. Mixture will be thick. Pat into greased 8×8 pan. Bake 17-20 minutes until lightly golden on top.

Store in refrigerator.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

