Wild rice soup with bacon and corn

I know, I know, it hardly seems like a post for soup is appropriate when we’ve had a string of 70 degree days, right? Really, though, I would eat this soup in the dead heat of summer. It’s that good. And you just need something to put in those pretzel bread bowls we made earlier this week, anyway.

In an effort to enjoy the last of these gorgeous fall days, Himself and I blew off our chores for the afternoon, packed a picnic lunch, and headed out exploring. And then I promptly came home and made you this photo collage. Always thinking of you, invisible internet friends, always thinking of you.

PicFrame

The lake pictured there is Lake Winnibigoshish. I’m a sucker for the wayside rests and historical markers, so I can proudly tell you that Lake Winnie is Minnesota’s fifth largest lake and the name comes from an Ojibwe phrase meaning “filthy water.” Probably the coolest thing about this lake is that Mississippi flows through the lake. Yeah, that wee little river that I could dance across, that there is the Mighty Mississippi. I’m always so fascinated by the transformation of this river as it traverses the state.

Ok, enough nature nerd for now. Let’s talk bacon instead. I know for many of you, a road trip to Meatopia is probably out of the question, so any good thick cut bacon will do. If you get a chance, buy yourself some uncut slab bacon. That’s my go-to purchase at Meatopia, that and their amazing porketta sausages. On a day, where I’m feeling the most productive, I’ll slice and dice that bacon myself, cook the whole thing down, and portion it up for the freezer. Then, I’ll have bacon for soup, pasta, and pizza, in other words, Jessica will be the happiest. My chest freezer is a magical place where summer sweet corn, Meatopia bacon, and garden fresh basil hang out just waiting to be called to center stage. You can use whatever bacon you have on hand, but the thicker the cut, the happier you’ll be too.

Enjoy!

Wild rice soup with bacon and corn

Wild rice soup with bacon and corn

Adapted from Lund’s and Byerly’s Wild Rice Soup

6 Tablespoons butter
¼ cup minced onion
½ cup chopped carrots
½ cup flour
3 ½ cups chicken broth
3 cups cooked wild rice
¾ cup (about 10 slices) cooked bacon
1 cup sweet corn, frozen works fine if thawed
2 Tablespoons basil, chopped
½ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon salt
Black pepper to taste
1 ½ cups half and half

In a large pan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Add onions and carrots and cook about 5 minutes, until onions are soft. Add flour, cook until lightly golden brown. Add broth ½ cup at a time, stirring well between additions. Once all the broth has been added, bring to a boil stirring constantly. Cook two minutes until thickened. Add wild rice, bacon, basil, and remaining seasonings. Simmer five minutes. Add half and half, and heat until warmed through. Add additional salt and pepper if necessary.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Wild rice soup with bacon and corn

  1. Hannah Barnett October 12, 2013 at 10:18 am Reply

    Yeah, I’m going to have to make that.

    I was a smart gal, and brought a little bag of wild rice with us over to Seattle–half of which when into some chicken and wild rice soup, but this looks like the best plan ever for the rest of it.

    Mmmm…

    • thepenandthepan October 12, 2013 at 1:00 pm Reply

      Wooohooo! That’s quite an honor, my friend. Using the last of your wild rice on my recipe.
      Luckily, I just happen to live in an area where wild rice is crazy plentiful. If you get a craving, you know where to find me.

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

