Spicy cheesy chicken rolls

Well my little kiddies, this post shall be a shorter one. You see we’re having our very first overnight guest tonight, and naturally that has thrown me into a bit of a tizzy. Never mind, that it’s family, and they’ve certainly seen my living spaces at their cleanest and then again at their most disorganized. Nope, as usual, I may have created some slightly unreasonable expectation of perfection for myself. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m super excited, but naturally want to put my best foot forward.

As you read more and more, you may find that these high expectations are a sort of  theme I seem to have. On the one hand, it ensures that this gal sets her sights high and aims for the sky, on the other hand, it may mean occasional moments of stress. I say “occasional” with a slight grin, because if you know me well, you know that it may happen slightly more often than that.

It’s one of the reasons that living up here is so good for me. I’m reminded to stop and look around me, to take time to breathe and be in the moment. I don’t always have to be doing something. In fact, it’s when I’m messing around outside that some of the coolest moments happen. Take for example, this rad picture of a birds nest. That’s just outside my bedroom window. Here’s hoping they come back next spring and regale us with song!

20130914-111451.jpg

Ok, after the nature interlude, back to the recipes. I really am excited to have a dinner guest. And dinner won’t disappoint. This recipe may look complicated, but I promise it’s not. It’ll look like you spent ages slaving in the kitchen, but this comes together in a flash! You should be serving it to your next dinner guests. Pair it with a salad or light vegetable and some cornbread. That cornbread is a must. You’re going to want something with some slight toothiness to cut the richness of the chicken. A note, I used the 1 ¼ lb package of boneless, skinless breasts, which generally means three chicken breasts.
Enjoy!

Spicy cheesy chicken rollsSpicy cheesy chicken roll ups

1 ¼ lb package boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 Tbsp finely chopped hot pepper (I used Anaheim peppers)
2 Tbsp finely chopped onions
1 tsp Mexican seasoning. As a girl who loves her Penzey’s, I used Arizona Dreaming
⅓ cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 oz cream cheese, slightly softened
A good shake or two of your fave hot sauce

Preheat oven to 350. Start by mixing pepper, onion, seasoning, and cream cheese together. Set aside.

Each chicken breast will be pounded flat to about 2 times the original size. The easiest way to do this is to sandwich the chicken between two large pieces of plastic wrap. Pound the chicken flat using a meat mallet, rolling pin, or even the bottom of a sturdy saucepan. Do this for each chicken breast.

Divide cream cheese mixture evenly and spread on each chicken breast. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese, reserving a pinch to sprinkle on top of each chicken roll. Carefully roll up each piece of chicken and place seam side down in a greased pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until juices run clear.

Let rest 5 minutes before serving.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Spicy cheesy chicken rolls

  1. […] also been thinking a lot about those spicy cheesy chicken rolls I shared with you back in September. I adored the flavor. I’ve also been craving tacos lately. […]

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

