Chicken sausage stuffed zucchini

You were promised more regular posts, and more regular posts you shall have! However, I did fail in my effort to get more pictures inside the house for you. Himself and I both had the day off today, so instead of taking pictures, I moved a pile of boxes into the living room and back bedroom. Getting settled in is taking a wee bit here. I’d like to think it’s because there’s so much awesomeness going on outside. Upon waking this morning, I saw that a few of the trees had already started to change color, a forceful reminder that winter is about to come knocking at my door. I know full well that there is one loooooooooong winter ahead of me, so I figure we’d better get out enjoy it while we can.

We have some pretty big tasks to tackle outside before that winter rolls in too. This overgrown patch right here is where my garden is going to live next year. A little overgrown now, sure, but that just means that ground is just waiting for my tomatoes, cucumbers, zucchini, and eggplant. As I type this, I can hear Himself tackling the weeds. I bet he already found the raspberry bushes and horseradish hiding in there. Later, we’re going to terrace it and add a gutter to the barn to help water it. Though if you look real close, you can see the well pump and faucet, where the best water in all the lands comes from.
20130911-170218.jpgWe also have a nice little hillock (a word I will never tire of). I’m calling that Pine Island, a nice high spot that’s covered with wild strawberries in high summer. This winter, Himself is going to be working on a footbridge to cross the wee creek on. Just a wee bit safer than the moss covered log, we’re currently using. Those of you that know me well, know that it’s just a matter of time before I end up in that creek if we keep using the log to cross. We also discovered a natural spring that helps feed that creek. Though overgrown, it’s landscaped in with rocks. Once we get it all cleaned out, you’ll be able to hear the gurgling of the spring from Pine Island and the main bedroom!
20130911-170241.jpg

You guys, so far, I’m pretty much convinced I live in the best place on earth too. We’re not too far from town, but it feels like the middle of nowhere sometimes. We can go most of the day without hearing another human sound. And at night, the stars, oh boy, the stars! I can even see the Milky Way! Now don’t scoff, but no matter how bad a day I think I’m having, all I have to do is go outside and look at where I’m at. All this hard work, well, it’s totally worth it.

Ok, ok, enough of me and my goofiness. You guys want a recipe. So, I’ve been trying for a great stuffed zucchini recipe, and I finally have one for you. It’s adapted from this feta stuffed zucchini recipe from House Dressing, but I went with a sharp cheddar and added chicken sausage. Stick around and you’ll soon learn that this house loves their chicken sausage. The recipe has been scaled down to stuff one zucchini, but let’s all be honest, zucchini comes by the armful, so feel free to increase the proportions. 20130911-170354.jpg

Chicken sausage stuffed zucchini

1 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise
½ Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp onion, finely chopped
⅛ cup finely minced chicken sausage
1 egg
⅛ cup bread crumbs
⅛ cup sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1 tsp chopped fresh basil
Optional:
1 Tbsp sundried tomatoes, finely chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Scoop out the insides of zucchini, taking care not to pierce the outer skin. Set zucchini “boats” aside.

Chop up the zucchini insides into small pieces. In a small saute pan, heat oil over medium heat. Add zucchini, onion, and chicken sausage. Saute just until onion has softened. Remove from pan and cool slightly.

In a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs, and then mix in bread crumbs, cheese, basil, tomatoes (if desired), and the slightly cooled zucchini mixture. Stuff mixture into the zucchini boats and place stuffed boats into lightly greased pan.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until lightly browned and zucchini pierces easily.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

