Blueberry basil scones

I’m a big fan of basil. Big.

Since moving dates have been a little up in the air this growing season, I thought, “Why not herbs?” I mean, they’re easy to grow, easier to harvest, I can freeze or dry them, and best of all, they look awfully pretty in the garden.Blueberry Basil Scones

A good idea, right? Well yes, until you find basil overflowing the garden, the freezer, and even my countertops. I’ve had basil on pizza and pasta, of course, but mixing it with sweet berries was new to me. New, but soon to be an old habit, because this is amazing, my friends.

The sweet and the savory come together in a perfect mix. The scone dough is courtesy of Marian Heinz, who gifted me with the perfect recipe. It is a little sticky coming together. Be patient, it’s well worth it. I’ve found the best way to make scones is to sandwich the dough between two pieces of well floured parchment paper and then cut into desired shapes. So do this, do it now.

Simple Scones

2 cups flour
½ cup sugar (to bring it to the next level, try vanilla sugar. I’ve got a jar going, that I just keep replacing with fresh white sugar.)
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 stick (8 Tbsp) cold butter
1-½ cup blueberries dried
¼ c basil, loosely packed
½ cup half and half
yogurt
1 egg

Preheat oven to 400º. Chiffonade basil and set aside.

Mix dry ingredients together. Cut in butter. When making scones and biscuits, I like to freeze my butter first and then grate it into the flour mixture with a cheese grater. At this point, I like to just stick my hands and mix away. You can be more civilized, a pastry cutter works well too.

Add blueberries and basil to the flour and butter mixture. It will coat the pieces so that they don’t all stick together.

Whisk together half and half and enough yogurt to make ¾ cup of liquid. Beat in egg. Add to dry ingredients, mixing just enough to incorporate.

Transfer dough to floured surface, adding more flour if too sticky. Pat out to desired thickness and cut into rounds or wedges.

Bake at 400º for about 15-18 minutes or until just lightly browned.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

