the Pen and the Pan becomes a reality

Here it is, the blog that you’ve all been waiting for.

Red Meadow FarmIn reality, this blog has gone through so many iterations, face lifts, and ideas that never came to fruition. I wanted a blog that would be so perfect. You know, one that went from zero to award winning in about the space of a week.

And then it hit me, if you know me, you aren’t looking for perfect. You want to see what we’re doing, what we’re loving, what our dreams are and how we’re making them a reality. So here goes, folks, it’s not perfection, but it does detail just why Himself and I are making the big leap. And for the next few weeks, I apologize, but there’s going to be a whole lot more pen than pan, as we make the big move up north.

It all started with a simple conversation, “Let’s start a hobby farm one day.” Like this blog, the dream has transformed, shaped itself to fit reality, but it’s happening. Himself and I have found a property that’s not perfect, but is mighty close. Being a realist, I want to start small. We transform a garden into a lifestyle.

And this will be the place to document that lifestyle. This grand adventure we’re embarking upon, with a fantastic recipe or 18 along the way.

The view from my kitchen

The view from my kitchen

Thanks for following along, this adventure would never have come to fruition without the support and excitement of people like you.

4 thoughts on “the Pen and the Pan becomes a reality

  1. Merridee July 21, 2013 at 1:06 pm Reply

    Looking for gardening advice I may have some. Of course, I garden in a different climate than you will be but some things are the same everywhere.

    • thepenandthepan July 22, 2013 at 9:22 am Reply

      Thanks Merridee! Of course, we still need to put the garden in. I hope to have that done this fall, so that we’re ready to plant next year. I’ll be grabbing dimensions and pictures of the area next time we go up.

  2. cathy July 21, 2013 at 4:27 pm Reply

    fantastic view:-)

    • thepenandthepan July 23, 2013 at 12:47 pm Reply

      Thanks Cathy! I hope to have more (and better) pics up soon.

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

Rooted in Nature…A Commitment to Ourselves

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan : Motherload VO

Where smart, silly and serious play extremely well together.

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

