Homemade BBQ sauce

It’s a big day here in Jessica-land! Guess who’s got two thumbs and 47 miles of garage sales to check out? Yup, you read that right, 47 miles! I’m on my usual garage sale hunt – vintage cookbooks and servingware. Wish me luck!

I am looking forward to fun-filled weekend here, guys. Himself and I both have two glorious days off in a row. For the most part, we have Wednesdays and Sundays off, but today, the stars have shone upon me, and I plan on making the most of it. Garage sales, scenic drives to see the leaves changing, roller derby, and watching the football game with G’pa and G’ma! Does it get more perfect? I’m even giving myself permission not to accomplish all the things <gasp>! We’re really kicking up our heels here!

Not having to accomplish all the things, means a little extra time in the kitchen. Extra time means homemade BBQ sauce. Now guys, homemade BBQ sauce is the easiest, and the taste can’t be beat. Seriously, I don’t even bother with that store bought stuff anymore. The caveat, it does take two hours to make, but it’s not two supervised hours. For me it’s two eps of The Good Wife (don’t you judge me) on Hulu, and before you know it, all done.

So this recipe mushes up two of my favorite cooks’ recipes – my grandma’s and Jessica from How Sweet Eats with my own flair. Stick around and you guys will find that I reference these two awesome ladies a lot. Now, here’s the thing. I like a tangy BBQ sauce with a hint of heat.

If sweet’s more your thing, go ahead reduce the vinegar and replace with water. Also, I really want to take this time to tell you about my favorite hot sauce, which has no idea who I am and would probably scoff at me singing their praises. Standing in front of the hot sauce section of the grocery store can be a little overwhelming, so many choices! Well, imagine how lucky I felt when I saw a label that said, “Try Me!” Yup, that’s right, I’m like Alice, tell me, “Try me,” and I usually will. So that’s how I happened upon Cajun Sunshine, and it’s now my go-to hot sauce. Recently, when I hit our new grocery store, I discovered that they have a whole line of sauces. Happy day!

Enough hot sauce talk, you’re looking for that BBQ sauce recipe. Here you go, enjoy!

Homemade BBQ Sauce

¼ cup butterHomemade BBQ sauce
3 cup brown sugar
2 cups ketchup
½ cup apple cider or red wine vinegar
¼ cup water
½ Tbsp molasses
½ Tbsp soy sauce
½ Tbsp hot sauce
1 Tbsp yellow mustard
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp smoked paprika
½ tsp black pepper
½ tsp garlic powder

In a small, sturdy saucepan melt butter and sugar until sugar dissolves. Add remaining ingredients. Simmer uncovered two hours, stirring periodically. When cooled transfer to a glass jar and refrigerate.

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Homemade BBQ sauce

  1. […] this recipe is really more about the technique than the ingredients. This recipe is using the Homemade BBQ sauce I showed you last week, but you can really use whatever sauce you like. Substitute whatever you […]

  2. […] will make the best breadcrumbs you ever did taste. Likewise, the BBQ sauce is best when you’ve made your own. And, the garlicky bite of the breadcrumbs and sharpness of the cheddar are perfectly balanced with […]

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

rural skills big city

Swirls and Spice

See it, make it, eat it!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

TwinDays

Living, Learning, Food, Travel, Enjoying, Fashion.

Simple Life Mom

Real Food, Natural Beauty

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan

A little song, a little dance, a little seltzer down your pants ...

Kitchen Cici

Food Innovator, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

Bunny Kitchen

Exploring the possibilities of cruelty free food

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

