Blue cheese biscuits from How Sweet It Is

Hello my favorite internet friends! It feels like I went and disappeared on you again. I’ll be candid here, this girl is having a hard time getting herself a schedule. And if you know me, well, you know I have a hard time operating without a schedule. You see the thing is, I went and thought that I was super woman. Move across the state, no big, I mean I’ve moved before. Oh wait a minute, I’ve moved into apartments before, or maybe some sort of shared housing. This here is the very first house I ever bought. Luckily it’s a really fantastic house! But you guys understand right? Or at least forgive me for the sporadic posts and iPhone pictures? We may be off to a slightly rocky start (the blog that is), but I sure think it’s going to be worth it.

Himself and I both started our new jobs last week too. We’re just as busy as bees! You know what’s cool though? After a day of hard work, there’s a nice little hot tub for me to relax in. A hot tub that overlooks nothing but woods and grasslands. I’m telling you, rural life can be rough…

It wasn’t all hard work around here though, last week we took a wee road trip on over to Bemidji, with a stop at Cass Lake, because, why not?

When the heat finally broke here, it broke with a vengeance. It was a bit of a chilly, grey day, but welcome all the same. Check out this lovely view of the lake.

20130905-154940.jpgIt’s not all house stuff and excuses today though, I want to share one of my very favorite biscuit recipes with you. The recipe comes from Jessica over at How Sweet It Is, one of my very favorite food blogs. Check it out, I’ll wait.

Are you back? Um, this is weird, but I think you’re salivating a little. It’s cool, that happens to me when  I look at her stuff too. I mean those pictures alone!

Anyway, this here biscuit recipe is amazing. The bleu cheese version is, without a doubt, my favorite. But what I really love about this recipe is that it’s super adaptable. It’s a sad, sad day, but my fridge is completely empty of bleu cheese. What I do have, is some sharp white cheddar. Add to that a good shake of one of my favorite Penzey’s spices – Fox Point , and you’ve got one tasty biscuit! The only other change I made was to increase the amount of milk to make a drop biscuit, rather than cut out the biscuits. The recipe makes 20 biscuits, but not to worry, you are going to gobble these up! I also like to keep some in the freezer. They’re super forgiving, you can thaw them and reheat in the oven easily.

Enjoy!

Blue Cheese Biscuits from Jessica at How Sweet It Is Sharp cheddar biscuits.jpg

Blue Cheese Biscuits

makes about 20 round biscuits
3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon granulated sugar
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) cold butter, cut into pieces
1 1/4 cups milk (whole or 2%)
6 ounces gorgonzola cheese (or your favorite blue), crumbled

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and soda, and whisk until combined. Using a fork, pastry blender or your hands, add butter pieces to the flour and mix until coarse little crumbles remain. Add in crumbled gorgonzola. Pour in milk and stir with a spoon until just combined, not overmixing. Use your hands if needed to bring the dough together – I did.

Use a 1/4 cup measure to drop batter onto a nonstick baking sheet, or press dough on a sheet of parchment paper or cutting board, then using a biscuit cutter to shape the dough into rounds. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until biscuits are golden brown.

Tagged: , , ,

Let's share all our deepest thoughts, invisible internet friends!

Fromage Homage

A British Isles Cheese Odyssey

My Foray Into Food Storage

A regular gal learning about Food Storage, Home Cooking, Canning, Gardening, and more!

Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

Wholesome family living, simple recipes and crafts

Urban Nettle

rural skills big city

Swirls and Spice

Kissing Dairy Goodbye Never Tasted So Good!

Shivaay Delights

Sharing my passion for cooking and baking ♡

TwinDays

Living, Learning, Food, Travel, Enjoying, Fashion.

Simple Life Mom

Natural Beauty and Homemade Everything

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Andie Duncan

A little song, a little dance, a little seltzer down your pants ...

Kitchen Cici

Food Innovator, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

My Favourite Pastime

Food, Travel and Eating Out

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

